Log in

Candidates file for election to local governments, school boards


Filings for the April 2 Howell County election are complete and have been provided by the Howell County Clerk's office.


For Brandsville, there are two open two-year terms with Betty Pirkle running for East alderwoman and Ronnie Bunch running for West alderman.

In Mtn. View, Mayor John Krasuski is seeking a reelection to a two-year term; Judi Colter is running unopposed for a two-year term an East Ward alderwoman; and to fill the remainder of a one-year term vacated by the resignation of Steven Sills, Vicki Carr and David Bauer will run for the second East Ward seat. Bud Vines was appointed and will serve until the election, but is not running for election. For West Ward, Calvin Perry and Lucinda Burton are running for a two-year term. Lindell Vandevort, current West Ward Alderman, is not seeking reelection.

In West Plains, Councilman Johnny Murrell is running for a second consecutive four-year term, unopposed.

In Willow Springs, Kimberly D. Rich, alderwoman for Ward I, is running for a two-year term and D. Tyler Morris is running for a two-year term as Ward II alderman, a seat to which he was appointed after the resignation of David Collins in July, when he relocated out of Willow Springs. Both are unopposed.


Several Howell County school districts are holding elections for school board seats.

The Bakersfield School District, which serves students in Howell and Ozark counties, has two open seats, each a three-year term. Candidates are incumbent Christopher Bales, plus challengers Justin Turner and Andrea Russell.

In the Glenwood School District, Chase Johnson is running against current board Vice President Jason Finley for a three-year term. Glenwood patrons will also have a ballot issue on which to vote. The district is asking permission to borrow $2 million for capital improvements including roof replacements; exterior improvements; an upgrade to playground equipment; the completion of athletic complex improvements, specifically new bleachers and a new building for concessions and restrooms; the replacement of HVAC units; restroom renovation; refinishing the gym floor; increasing classroom space by remodeling; and completion of other facility repairs and improvements as funds are available. If passed, the ballot issue also includes an increase to debt service levy from zero to $0.3400 per $100 dollars of assessed valuation of real and personal property located within the district.

In the Mtn. View-Birch Tree School District there are two open three-year terms. Gaylon Noble, Michael Smith and incumbent Jennifer Foster will be on the ballot.

The Oregon-Howell (Koshkonong) School District has two two open seats, each a three-year term. Angelia Andrews, current President Jamie Roberts and Vice President Jeff Lancaster, Ruth Waggoner and Joan Billingsley have filed to run. The district also has a ballot initiative seeking to borrow $1.35 million to construct, equip and furnish a storm shelter that will also contain science laboratory classrooms; repair or replace an asphalt parking lot; and, to the extent funds are available, complete other repairs or improvements. The debt service is to remain unchanged at $0.80 per $100 of assessed valuation of real and personal property.

In the West Plains R-7 School District, two seats are open, each a three-year term. Current President Jimmy E. Thompson and member Brian Mitchell, plus challenger Shealia Harper are vying for those seats.

In the Willow Springs School District, three terms are open. Two are three-year terms, for which current member Scott Foster, Roger Shanks and current President Mac Gum are running. For a one-year term, incumbent Debbie L. Bryan, Larry Huitt and Meagan Jones are running.