Log in

Two WSHS seniors nominated for MSBA scholarships


Two Willow Springs High School students have been nominated for the Missouri School Board Association’s John T. Belcher Scholarship.

Senior Maddie Poor was nominated by the Willow Springs School Board and senior Emily Allison was nominated by the Junction Hill School Board.

This prestigious award honors exceptional students based on academic achievement, extracurricular involvement and an essay. A winner is selected from each of the 17 MSBA Regions and one overall State Winner is selected. Each regional winner receives a $1,000 scholarship and is automatically eligible to compete to be the statewide winner, who receives an additional $1,500.

The school board of each MSBA member district is eligible to nominate one high school senior to apply. If a K-8 school district is a member of the Missouri School Boards’ Association, it may also select a current senior who attended that district prior to high school.